Javascript is currently not supported, or is disabled by this browser. Please enable Javascript for full functionality.

Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

    Sep 27, 2020  
2017-2018 Undergraduate Academic Calendar 
2017-2018 Undergraduate Academic Calendar [ARCHIVED CALENDAR]

Science – Complementary Studies

Students in the Science – Complementary Studies program must successfully complete 120 credit hours according to the following requirements.

Additional core courses – 18 credit hours

These courses must include the following:

Additional science courses – 51 credit hours

Students must successfully complete an additional 51 credit hours in courses offered by the Faculty of Science, in the areas listed below. Of these, at least 30 credit hours must be at the third (3000 series) or fourth (4000 series) year level, including at least 6 credit hours at the fourth (4000 series) year level.

  • Biology (BIOL);
  • Chemistry (CHEM);
  • Computing Science (CSCI);
  • Mathematics (MATH and STAT);
  • Environmental Science (ENVS);
  • Physics (PHY)

Liberal studies and non-science courses – 12 credit hours

Students must complete 12 credit hours in courses not taught within the Faculty of Science.

General electives – 12 credit hours

Students must complete an additional 12 credit hours in general electives. These courses may be in science or in non-science subjects. 


+Students who wish to take upper-year Biology courses must take BIOL 1010U  and BIOL 1020U  

++All students who have completed Grade 12 Advanced Functions (MHF4U) and, Calculus and Vectors (MCV4U) should take MATH 1010U  and PHY 1010U . Students without one of these high school courses or equivalent are directed to take MATH 1000U  and PHY 1030U .

+++Students who wish to take upper-year physics courses must take PHY 1020U . However, students who achieve a B standing or higher in PHY 1040U  will be permitted to proceed to higher-level physics courses.

++++Students who wish to take upper-year computing science courses must take CSCI 1030U